Paintball Cupcakes

17 Sep

Packaged up and ready for delivery!

I recently had a lady order cupcakes for her son’s 14th birthday. She ordered “paintball themed” cupcakes. To be honest, I was a little stumped at first. How on earth was I going to pull off, “paintball” cupcakes ?! I have never been paintballing in my life, not to mention the thought of getting hit by an exploding ball of paint makes me cringe! Luckily, I was able to think of some pretty fun ideas and the overall presentation turned out really great! I decided to color the icing in bold colors and used a frosting trick that allowed me to pipe two colors at once. I think this gave the cupcakes a paintball feel. What do you think?

Two-Tone Frosting

 

To create the two-tone effect, I wrapped the blue icing in plastic wrap and rolled it into a thin tube. I did the same thing for the yellow icing. I then cut the tips of the plastic wrapped frosting “tubes” and put both colors of icing in one piping bag. Voila, two-tone icing!! This trick is really easy and saves from a big mess!!

 I hope the birthday boy liked his cupcakes and had a great birthday!

      Until next time, stay sweet! xo

12 Responses to “Paintball Cupcakes”

  1. fairycakesandlife September 17, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    Your cupcakes look absolutely delicious!

  2. harukaheartless September 17, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Wow, those look real tasty! Hope they are as good as they look! ^_^

    Nice theme also! (: Love it

    ~ Haruka

    • fontgirl September 20, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by – try some of the recipe and you’ll see they really are as good as they look :)

  3. fsugirl101 September 19, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    found you on 20sb! LOVE the cupcakes!

  4. Kittie September 20, 2010 at 12:28 am #

    They look fab! You got really creative with your technique as well as your vision, and I hope your clients were appropriately pleased. Good job!!

    • fontgirl September 20, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by!!

  5. Shayna September 20, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    They look amazing!! Wow!

  6. Geni September 20, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    These are EXACTLY like what a paintball cupcake should look like. I’m sure the partiers were THRILLED! Great job! You are so talented. My stuff always tastes good but never

    • fontgirl September 21, 2010 at 1:41 am #

      Thanks Geni, I really tried to figure out how to best decorate a “paintball” cupcake without being to literal…From what I hear, they were a success at the party! Thanks for stopping by!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Strawberry White Chocolate Cupcakes « Stay Calm, Have A Cupcake! - October 26, 2010

    [...] For the two-tone frosting effect, I used the same technique from my “Paintball Cupcakes” (http://fontgirl.wordpress.com/2010/09/17/paintball-cupcakes/) [...]

  2. Fourth of July Inspiration « Stay Calm, Have A Cupcake! - June 20, 2011

    [...] color striped frosting! This is such a fun technique. I’ve done it a few times here and [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers