French Vanilla Berry and Double Fudge Cupcakes

23 Sep

 

Double Fudge Cupcake

 I love chocolate! So it is no suprise to me that I am obsessed with this chocolate cupcake. It’s a moist chocolate cupcake topped with rich chocolate frosting. The recipe is pretty simple too! It’s an adapted version of my Caramel Chocolate Cupcakes(http://fontgirl.wordpress.com/2010/09/13/chocolate-caramel-cupcakes/) Follow the same recipe just leave out  the caramels. For the frosting, I used the same recipe (in the link above) but replaced the 1/4 cup of vegetable shortening with 1/4 cup of butter. I love a recipe that can make two different cupcakes!!

French Vanilla Berry

Now, for my French Vanilla Berry cupcakes! These cupcakes are so perfectly light and fluffy that you almost dont feel guilty for eating 3 of them in one sitting more than one. I used a traditional vanilla cake recipe and added some key ingredients. I used 1 tablespoon of French Vanilla flavoring (I like Wilton’s, but there are many brands that I’m sure will do just fine) and then I add 2 tablespoons of french vanilla cofee creamer. Weird, I know! But it works like a charm.

Now, for the berry part of this cupcake! I have written about my double berry buttercream recipe in a previous post. This frosting is similiar but it is double berry cream cheese rather than buttercream. Both are so delicous, but I find that the buttercream is better for cake filling and the creamcheese is better for cupcakes.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 box of strawberries (at least 15 strawberries)
  • 1 bog of blueberries (2 ½ cups)
  • 3 cups of sugar
  • ¼ cup of cornstarch
  • 1 package of cream cheese (8 oz)
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine softened
  • 2 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 5 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 2 tbs of lemon juice
  • Directions

    With the first set ingredients, you are going to make the berry jam.

    1. Wash the berries
    2. Cut the strawberries
    3. Place berries in a bowl and mash them together (I used a potato masher)
    4. Pour berries into a pan and add 3 cups of sugar and lemon juice.
    5. Stir until combined
    6. Let boil (stirring occasionally) for 7-10 minutes until it starts to thicken.
    7. Turn to low heat and add cornstarch (be sure to add the cornstarch to cold water before adding it to the hot mixture – reference the directions on the side of the cornstarch box)
    8. Remove from heat, let cool completely

    Using the second set of ingredients:

    1. Cream the creamcheese and butter with electric mixer.
    2. Add vanilla. Gradually add sugar, one cup at a time, beating well on medium speed.
    3. When all sugar has been mixed in, icing will appear dry. Add milk and beat at medium speed until it appears fluffy.
    4. At this point, add in 2 1/2  cups of the cooled berry filling. (You might need more depending on how much of the berry flavor you want to taste)
    5. Mix togethert until well combined
    6. Refrigerate for 30 minutes before using.

     ** Don’t forget to sign up for the Bake It Pretty Giveaway! Deadline is October 4th.

    Read my Sept. 21st post for deatils!!**

    7 Responses to “French Vanilla Berry and Double Fudge Cupcakes”

    1. cailen September 28, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

      mmm…these look sooo good. i’m a big cupcake fan!

      (ps. found you via 20sb. loving your blog!)

      • fontgirl September 29, 2010 at 12:43 am #

        Thanks so much – glad you stopped by! I’ll make sure to check out your blog too!

    2. Adrian September 29, 2010 at 5:52 am #

      Wow I am in heaven!! I love baking cupcakes, it’s something I write about often (mainly being forbidden by the hubby to bake them unless I have a function to go to)and also something I just love doing. I can’t wait to try out those double chocolate, or even find the original chocolate caramel recipe, I’ve been craving that combo lately!

      Btw, stopping in from Mingle Monday over on Life of Meg. I will now be a loyal follower of your blog :) So glad to have more wordpress peeps!

      • fontgirl September 30, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

        Thanks for stopping by – enjoy the recipes!!

    3. blackbookkitchendiaries September 29, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

      wow these look so lovely!! thank you for sharing this. im glad i stumble on your blog.

      • fontgirl September 30, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

        Thanks, glad you stopped by!

    4. Sam September 30, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

      These cupcakes look delicious!! Mmm now I want something sweet!

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 248 other followers