Christmas Tree Treats!

2 Dec

Today in Florida the weather is refreshingly chilly, a bit windy, and so very seasonal!! I was admittedly not in any sort of holiday spirit a week ago, but am coming around. I finally feel like being festive!

Today’s recipe is for Christmas Tree Cupcakes. These cupcake are so easy, and are a great project to do with the kids or even a group of your girlfriends. The decorating options are endless and people won’t believe how delicious these little trees taste!

Christmas Treats!

For starters, you will need to decide on a base flavor for your cupcake. I chose chocolate because I knew I wanted to top it with my mint buttercream. But if you don’t like mint chocolate you can make regular buttercream frosting and tint it green.

Here is the buttercream recipe I use (and love!!)It is a wonderful base recipe that can be adapted to almost any flavor you desire!!

Easy Buttercream

  • 2 sticks of softened butter
  • 3 cups of powdered sugar
  • 3 tbs of whipping cream
  • 1 tbs of vanilla

**If you want this to be mint buttercream, simply add mint extract and tint with green food coloring.**

Directions

  1. In a standing mixer with a whisk attachment, whisk together powdered sugar and butter on medium high speed. Once combined, whisk for about 3 minutes until light and fluffy
  2. Add the vanilla extract (if using mint, add the mint extract at this time) – mix well
  3. Add the whipping cream and food coloring and whisk for another 3 minutes

To decorate fill a piping bag with your frosting and cut the tip off. Make sure you have a large enough hole for the frosting to come out of. Pipe the frosting onto your cupcake starting from the bottom and swirling your way to the peak of the tree. Practice a few times if  you aren’t comfortable with it.

Gather your Christmas sprinkles and start decorating! I used little candy pearls and placed them on first. I then used little snowflake sprinkles and placed them around each layer – topping the tree off with one as the star. You honestly cant go wrong here, any type of sprinkle you use will be absolutely adorable!

Voila – Christmas Tree Cupcakes! I took mine into the office and they were such a hit. People always love a festive treat!

Til next time, stay sweet xoxo

P.S. Don’t forget to order your cupcake goodies for the holidays. I have added a ton of new stuff to my shop. Visit me at www.etsy.com/shop/staycalmcupcake . Use code SCCS10for a  10% DISCOUNT!

6 Responses to “Christmas Tree Treats!”

  1. Geni December 2, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    These are stunning Jill! What a perfect flavor combo.

  2. Nikki December 2, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    These look great!! I am adding these to my list of holiday treats I want to try!!! I doubt mine will look very good (or tree like) but I’m going to try!

  3. happylifehappywife December 2, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    Those look great!

    (And isn’t this change in weather nice?!?) I’m loving it now, although if it stays this cold I’ll be sick of it :)

  4. Sam Lorton December 5, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    OMGosh, thank you soooo much for your sweet words on Love Never Fails. I’m so glad you did so now I can continue to read your ADORABLE little bloggy! Holy cupcakes. These look delicious :) I cannot wait to try this recipe! Thank you for sharing!

    Can’t wait to keep reading :) Have a lovely Sunday!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 246 other followers