Cupcake Crazies

19 Jul

It will come as no sudden suprise  when I say that I am a fan of all tings cupcake! I like to keep current with all the new and popular flavors, blogs, cupcake bakery’s, etc. Amidst all of my long hours salivating over anything  cupcake related research, I have come to find that there are some really weird cupcakes out there. It makes me wonder if people are just trying to be known for “unique” and “funky” cupcakes or if they are actually meeting the demand of a new cupcake demographic. Do people really want to eat spicy chili cupcakes or cotton candy cupcakes? I understand the occasional child’s birthday cupcake, but cotton candy? Really? Aside from being a very novel idea (and belive me, I think it sounds and look really cool) I’m not sure it actually tastes that great. Since I admit that I could be way off base, I have come up with some cupcakes that I think are just bizzarre and will let you decide if they are just for looks or actually have good flavor.

So here we go:

Cotton Candy Cupcakes: This cupcake recipe calls for cotton candy bits in the vanilla cake mix as well as cotton candy flavoring in vanilla buttercream frosting. An overall total of 5 cups of cotton candy is required. What do you think? Too sweet or just right?

http://barbarabeerykidscooking.wordpress.com/2009/12/04/193/

Cotton Candy Cupcake

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rose Cupcakes: This recipe actually calls for rose water and real roses. Really? I don’t know, that seems kind of odd to me.

http://bossacafez.blogspot.com/2009/08/lychee-rose-cupcakes.html

Rose-water Cupcakes....hmm?

French Toats Bacon Cupcakes: I never thought I would say this, but this is one cupcake I would NEVER eat. I  just can’t get over the chunk of bacon…

http://ladolcivita.blogspot.com/2009/05/french-toast-and-bacon-cupcakes.html

French Toast Bacon Cupcakes

Jalepeno Jelly and Pinapple Cupcakes: I’m not a fan of anything spicy, let alone mixing vegetable with my dessert. This recipe won an award of somesort (I didn’t really read enough to know which one – sorry). What do you think? Yummy or terrifying?

http://cuptincreations.blogspot.com/2008/08/cupcake-hero-august-entry.html

Jalepeno Jelly Cupcake - Looks pretty spicy!

Gin and Tonic Cupcakes: They sounds so chic, but I’m not sure how they will taste. My mind could be changed on this one – not sure yet…

http://www.yumsugar.com/Cheers-Gin-Tonic-Cupcakes-2705466

Gin and Tonic Cupcakes

 Well there they are, just a few of the recipes that made me raise my brow. I recently made margarita cupcakes, as I was a skeptic of using alcohol in cupcakes, and wanted to see how they would turn out – but they turned out pretty good. They tasted a lot like lime cupcakes with vanilla and lime zest frosting – except they had a warm after taste – the way tequilla often does (I mean, thats what I’m told – Mom, I would never drink tequilla :))

Til next time, stay sweet! xoxo

3 Responses to “Cupcake Crazies”

  1. happylifehappywife July 19, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    The only one of those I would try would be the french toast & bacon. I saw them on one of the cooking shows and it looked really good.

    And while I do love the occasional cotton candy, that cupcake sounds way too sweet for me!

  2. katiescupcakekitchen July 24, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    The bacon-y cupcakes at Kumquat Cupcakery in Brooklyn are some of their biggest sellers. I can’t imagine the taste, but many, many people seem to love them. The jalapeno sounds excellent! I love mexican style food though-I’m from New Mexico. My favorite jelly to make is Jalepeno!

    I actually love all of these ideas…the gin and tonic sounds a little odd. The cotton candy cupcake looks beautiful but cotton candy is an acquired taste that I’ve never acquired. The rose one sounds just lovely.

  3. Alaina May 9, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    I think all of these cupcakes are very creative and I would love to try them all! I am actually making some gin and tonic cupcakes for my cousin’s bridal shower!

Leave a Reply

