Birthday Celebrations!

7 Sep

I made birthday cake this weekend! To be honest, I have never prided myself in fabulous, or even out of the ordinary, cake making skills. But I have to say that this weekend, I was pretty darn impressed with myself. I made two cakes, each of which got rave reviews from everyone who had a piece.

The first was a Sesame Street cake for my niece Sofia’s 2nd Birthday!!

It was a funfetti cake, filled with double berry buttercream, and topped with vanilla cream-cheese frosting. I was really pleased with how the filling turned out. I refrigerated it over night and it was almost like icecream in the center of the cake . The berry flavor complimented the cream-cheese frosting on the outside of the cake, and gave the cake a refreshing flavor. Sofia liked it – and that’s all that mattered 🙂

Happy Birthday Sofia!

 To get the different textures on the cake, I used a fork, a knife, and a spoon. Techinique and decorations like these can be done somewhat easily. Since you are looking to get a “fluffly” texture, you don’t have to be worried about being perfect. The more imperfect, the better!

For Elmo and Cookie Monster, I used a spoon ans did little “swoops” in the frosting. I used a fork for the Grouch and just scraped the surface enough to raise the icing in lots of little peaks. Big Bird was easy, I just used a knife and spread the icing in different directions.

I bought the face pieces from Amazon (but they can be purchased on eBay as well). It was $3 for the set and they came within 4 days of me ordering them. They worked perfectly and gave my characters a more realistic look!

The second cake I made was for Adrienne. Adrienne loves butterflies, so I made her a butterfly cake. I didn’t use a butterfly shaped pan though, I just baked a sheet cake and cut out the shape I was looking for. (I was able to make cake truffles with the remaining cake! Yum!) The cake was a marble cake, topped with a french-vanilla cream cheese frosting. If  I would change anything, I would have added more vanilla cake – the “marble cake” was a little heavy on chocolate. But other than that, I thought the cake had a great flavor palet.

Butterfly Marble Cake - Better pictures to come!

 I will be uploading some better pictures and more detailed recipes this evening. So keep an eye out for them. Until next time, stay sweet! xoxo

2 Responses to “Birthday Celebrations!”

  1. Adrienne September 8, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    I just have to say that this was a really special birthday…and it was all thanks to you, Jill. The cakes were amazing and oh so yummy! I know this for sure, as I just finished the rest of my butterfly cake last night! And Peter wasn’t too happy when he found out I didn’t save any of the other cake for him!!! I love you Jill, Thank you so much for making our birthday so wonderful!

  2. fontgirl September 9, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    Love you guys too! Glad I could be a part of the celebration for a second year in a row!! I look forward to celebrating many many more birthdays with you guys. xoxo

Leave a Reply

