From Simple to Sweet!

1 Oct

Hello readers,

Classic Vanilla

Today I want to share with  you a little secret. The secret to fabulous cupcakes  is decorating! Making a good cupcake isn’t that difficult, but its the decorating that gives each of your cupcakes that extra something special.

From Simple to "Sweet"!

These simple vanilla cupcakes are topped with my signature cream-cheese frosting and topped with edible sugar decorations that say “sweet”. I found these on sale at Joann’s Fabrics – they were only $2 for a pack of 12!!

Another great place to find decroation inspiration is at your local Marshalls or TJMaxx – their home goods sections always have the most adorable sprinkles at crazy affordable prices.

Yummy Chocolate Variety!

I recently made a batch of chocolate fudge cupcakes. My dilema was how to create a “variety box” with only one flavor cake. I decided to use 3 different icings, and 3 different types of decorations. One simple cupcake, turned into 3 great variations! I used cream cheese frosting and left it white, vanilla frosting and dyed it a beautiful blue, and topped the rest with my irresitable chocolate mousse. YUM! The best part about this, is you are bound to please everyone with a variety of cupcakes, and they didn’t even take long! It’s amazing what a couple of sprinkles will do for your cupcake!

Overall, be creative with your cupcakes. My golden rule is to use sprinkles sparingly (too many sprinkles can look a little tacky) and always decorate for the event. Don’t be afraid to try new things! If worst comes to worst, you don’t like it and you try again. It’s just icing 🙂 Nothing is permanent. Have fun and send me some pictures of your cupcake decorating skills!!

 

Til next time, stay sweet. xoxo

7 Responses to “From Simple to Sweet!”

  1. Geni - Sweet and Crumby October 2, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    As usual, these look YUMMY! I don’t know how you get these cupcakes to look so beautiful! I have a favor and thought this might be the best way to get ahold of you. My son asked for Three Musketeers Cupcakes for his 16th b-day dinner tomorrow! I want to do more than just put a 1/2 mini bar in the middle. Can you think of anything as a frosting that would replicate that flavor or compliment it? Feel free to edit this comment on your blog! 🙂 P.S. I think you need a Dear Jill page!

    • fontgirl October 2, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

      Hi Geni,

      Three Musketeer cupcakes sound really yummy! I would make a traditional chocolate cupcake and top it with this fluffly chocolate marshmallow frosting. And topping it with a chucnk of Three Muskateer bar would be the perfect addition! Here’s the recipe, good luck, and take pictures of your masterpieces 🙂

      4 egg whites
      1 cup sugar
      1/4 tsp cream of tartar
      Pinch of salt
      1 tsp vanilla extract
      1 bag of hot chocolate dry powder
      2 tsp of semi sweet cocoa powder
      2 tsp of water

      Set a clean stainless steel or other heat proof bowl over a pan of simmering water to create a double boiler. Add all ingredients except vanilla and whisk to combine. Heat, whisking almost constantly, making sure to scrape the sides of the bowl frequently until the mixture reaches 160 degrees. Transfer to mixer/mixing bowl fitted with the whisk attachment and continue mixing, increasing speed slowly to high speed until the frosting holds stiff peaks. Add vanilla extract and beat until just incorporated.

      If you don’t like this recipe, you could always do a whip cream frosting and add chocolate 🙂

      • Geni - Sweet and Crumby October 2, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

        You are AWESOME! My son just smiled when I said, I knew you would come through! 🙂

  2. incomepowerboost October 3, 2010 at 1:36 am #

    Totally yummy post. One thing you haven’t mentioned is making different cupcakes by piping good stuffs into the top and down to the center of the cupcake. (like a jelly donut) Then decorating the top to cover the hole it makes. A bakery that I go to does this and its soo good!

  3. Nikki October 3, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    This was really helpful!! I am not a very good baker and I SUCK at icing, so I am hoping some sprinkles and things will help. I love those cute little “Sweet” things!! Got some great ideas for Halloween? I am trying to be festive.

    • fontgirl October 5, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

      I’ll be posting lots of good ideas in the following days. Keep an eye out for them 🙂

  4. Sarah October 4, 2010 at 12:52 am #

    cute blog! thanks for stopping by mine. i wish i had seen yours before i made my dad birthday cupcakes. i need serious decorating help! 🙂

Leave a Reply

