Tinker Bell Cake

17 Nov

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again… I am by no means a phenomenal cake decorator. Above average, maybe….Ace of Cakes…..no way! It seems though that I am the token “family cake maker” for any and all events.  I enjoy making cakes and am always honored to be asked,  but I really do need to work on my techniques and put in some more practice hours.

I was asked early this week to make a Tinker Bell cake for a 3 year old’s birthday party. I said yes, and in the end the cake was a hit with everyone at the party. But that is NOT to say it went off without a hitch.

Here are some good tips I wish I had listened to before I started this cake:

1) Don’t EVER try to make a cake start to finish in one night!! Bake the actual cake the night before you do the actual frosting and decorating. Working an 8 hour day, then coming home to bake a cake was not one of my brightest ideas.

2) Check for eggs before you get started. Self explanatory…you can imagine how thrilled I was when I realized I had to leave the house to go get eggs!!

3) Have a plan. Never start decorating a cake without a plan. Chances are you’ll regret it in the end when you  have a mess of colors and designs all over the place. I started with no plan in mind and realized quickly that I needed to stop and create a theme before I went any further.

Overall, the cake turned out nice and the birthday girl was very pleased with it. Enjoy the pictures!

Happy Wednesday xoxo

4 Responses to “Tinker Bell Cake”

  1. rachael November 17, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    Gorgeous! You have such a natural talent! Thank you for the tips!

    Rachael

  2. thebakingconnoisseur November 17, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    It’s so pretty! Great job!

  3. ambermartingale November 17, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

    Too bad you didn’t include pics of the birthday girl too. *S*

  4. Elizabeth November 18, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    how cute!

Leave a Reply

