Coconut Pecan Frosting

13 Jan

Coconut Pecan Goodness!

Since I’m on this coconut kick, I decided to make German Chocolate cupcakes. And no German Chocolate cupcake is complete unless it has the traditional coconut pecan frosting. It’s the perfect mix of sweet and nutty that compliments the bitter chocolate cupcake so well.

This was my first time making this frosting, so I went to the trusted Martha Stewart cupcake book for her take on the frosting.

Here’s the recipe, with a few of my own little tweaks and notes:

Coconut Pecan Frosting

Makes enough for one 9-inch 3-layer cake (or 36 cupcakes!)

Ingredients

  • 3 large egg yolks
  • 1 can (12 ounces) evaporated milk
  • 1 1/4 cups packed light-brown sugar  (I used dark brown for a richer flavor and really liked the result!)
  • 1 1/2 sticks (12 tablespoons) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces and brought to room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 2/3 cups (7 ounces) sweetened flaked coconut (Make sure you chop up the coconut. Sometimes the strings in the bag are way too long and makes for messy eating)
  • 1 1/2 cups (6 ounces) pecans, toasted and coarsely chopped (I did not toast mine, bc I think it gives a very strong pecan flavor that over powers the frosting – but it’s a matter of preference)

Directions

  1. Combine egg yolks, evaporated milk, and brown sugar in a saucepan. Add butter, and cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until thick, about 10 minutes. (Should be the consistency of pudding)
  2.  Pour through a fine sieve into a bowl.
  3. Stir in vanilla, salt, coconut, and pecans. Let cool completely. Frosting can be refrigerated in an airtight container for up to 1 day; bring to room temperature before using.

Enjoy this frosting on top of any chocolate dessert! Stay Sweet xoxo

8 Responses to “Coconut Pecan Frosting”

  1. Geni - Sweet and Crumby January 13, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    These look so fantastic. It’s one of my very favorite chocolate combo’s…coconut, pecan and chocolate! We still need to trade goodies! 🙂

  2. ambermartingale January 13, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    Yum.

  3. Miss Anthropist January 14, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Looks delicious…I think I will try this soon! 🙂

  4. Dana Ward January 15, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    GIRL! You are giving away your secrets! Don’t worry, I could never make them as yummy as you!

  5. Nikki January 16, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Another yummy dessert! I left you something on my blog…

  6. littlecurio January 18, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    Oh my goodness… it is torture looking at these photos and not having that cupcake in my mouth! Sweet, sweet torture! I have just found your blog and am loving the recipes already, thanks!

    • StayCalmCupcake January 18, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

      Hi!

      Thanks so much for stopping by! If you head over to my etsy shop and use code SWEET2011 you can get a great discount on any of my cupcakes. If you try any of the recipes, let me know how they turn out. Stay Sweet!

      xo, Jill

Leave a Reply

