Monday Pick-Me-Up Cupcake

31 Jan

Coffee Cupcakes!

Alright, as promised, here is a yummy cupcake recipe to kick off your week right!

Dark Chocolate Coffee Bean Cupcakes

Cupcake:

  • 1 1/8 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup Ghirardelli Unsweetened Cocoa
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated white sugar
  • 1/2 cup and 2 tbs of whole milk  
  • 1/3 cup strongly brewed coffee
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line Cupcake Pan with liners
  • Sift together the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt.
  • In a mixer on medium speed, whisk together the egg, brown sugar, and white sugar. Add in the milk, coffee, and melted butter.
  • Slowly whisk in the dry ingredients.
  • Bake for 15 minutes.

Frosting

  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee granules
  • 2tbs of brewed coffee
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 6 tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 cups confectioners’ sugar – add more for a thicker consistency

Directions:

  1. Cream Butter and powdered sugar in a mixer on medium high speed.
  2. Mix together instant coffee, brewed coffee, milk, cocoa powder, vanilla extract
  3. Add to mixer and whisk on medium high for about 3 minutes or until desired consistency is reached.
  4. Put in piping bag and frost your cupcakes
  5. Garnish with coffee beans or chocolate shavings if desired

The perfect morning pick-me up or after dinner treat! Enjoy!

Xoxo,

Jill

**Image courtesy of http://ladylorien.tumblr.com/page/2 **

12 Responses to “Monday Pick-Me-Up Cupcake”

  1. ohemgillie January 31, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    These sound so good. I’m completely obsessed with chocolate covered espresso beans, but they can be really hard to find year-round. Coffee cupcakes sound like a perfect substitute.

    When I bake anything chocolate-based, I always add a little sprinkle of the Starbucks Via medium roast to enhance the chocolate flavor. Works like a charm!

  2. amanda sakovitz January 31, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    this looks amazing. i show your shop on etsy and your cupcakes look delicious! I also found you on saturday mornings.

  3. Young Wifey January 31, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    Yes, please!

  4. Nikki February 1, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    One word: YUMMY!!!!! And my husband is going to LOVE these!!!!

  5. Audrey February 1, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Oh my! Those look amazing! No one in my family likes coffee but me – I wouldn’t have to share!

  6. Amy February 1, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Your cupcakes look delish! I always had a crazy pipe dream of owning a bakery. Keep following those dreams (because I can’t really bake!) Found you via Saturday Mornings!

  7. clenna February 2, 2011 at 1:21 am #

    This recipe looks so yummy! I don’t bake so these look especially good to me.

    The blog: Saturday Mornings sent me here.

  8. Geni - Sweet and Crumby February 2, 2011 at 2:26 am #

    Jill—how did you know that I needed a pick me up to my day? Those look so amazing! What a perfect flavor combination!

  9. Sarah Bratton February 5, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    just made these… they were great!!!! thanks for the recipe!

  10. Elizabeth March 24, 2012 at 3:12 am #

    Look sooooo good!

    I’m going 2 try them tommorow!

  11. Christine April 20, 2012 at 5:15 am #

    How many cupcakes will this make?

    • StayCalmCupcake April 25, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

      This recipe made 15 cupcakes for me – but I like to fill my liners almost to the top 🙂

Leave a Reply

