Cupcake Fillings

22 Mar

I cannot tell you how many frustrated evenings I have spent trying to fill cupcakes with various creams, jams, and candies. I think every cupcake baker – at one time or another has felt this same irritation. If you cut a hole in each cupcake, it takes forever , if you just jam your filling tip into the cupcake, you don’t have enough room for the filling, and if you use an apple corer you end up taking too much cake out….oh the perils of  filling a cupcake – haha.

Cupcake Corer!

Not to worry, my dear cupcake lovers – I have found a solution!! Williams-Sonoma sells a “Cupcake- Corer” – perfect for all your cupcake filling needs. The best part about this product is that it only costs $5.00 – what a deal!! You simply push the corer into your cupcake and pull up. There you have it, a perfectly hollowed cupcake! The corer does all the work for you! I have read the reviews and they all seem positive. I wish I could give you my own review, but sadly enough I do not have this wonderful cupcake corer yet. I tried to order it online but it was “temporarily out of stock”. It is available in their store though – which is where I’ll be purchasing mine soon!

So what type of fillings are you going make now that cupcake filling is made simple?? I love a double berry filling but I also really enjoy a creamy Peanut Butter filling inside of a moist chocolate cupcake.

Peanut Butter Filled Chocolate Cupcakes

Peanut-Butter Filling

  • 2 sticks of unsalted butter
  • 4 cups of powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp of vanilla flavoring
  • 2 cups of Peanut Butter
  • 2 tsp of milk

In your mixer, on medium high,  cream together the butter and the peanut butter. This usually take 2-5 minutes to achieve the proper consistency

Add your powdered sugar one cup at a time, mixing in between each cup

Continue mixing on medium high for 1 minute

Add your vanilla and your milk – mix for another minute. You’re frosting should be thick and creamy. If it is not the consistency you want, continue mixing for another 2 minutes.

Fill your chocolate cupcakes with this creamy deliciousness and enjoy!! Top with chocolate or peanut butter frosting – nothing is better!

Stay Sweet,

Jill xoxo

7 Responses to “Cupcake Fillings”

  1. LovemyMartel March 23, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    How funny you posted this today! I always have the same problem! I was going to purchase this product becuase it seems like SUCH a great idea!! Not really made for mass-producing, though!

    http://shop.avon.com/shop/search.aspx?find_spec=633-929&department=search

  2. ambermartingale March 23, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    I was wondering if you could use chucnky peanut butter in the recipe if you;re out of the smooth peanut butter?

    • StayCalmCupcake March 23, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

      Hi Amber – I wouldn’t use chunky for the frosting, it would be hard to pipe on the top of the cupcake. Chunky would be fine though if you were just going to make filling 🙂

      • ambermartingale March 23, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

        Yeah, I can see how it would be a bit awkward to use as a frosting, actually. 🙂

        Thanks for the info.

  3. ambermartingale March 23, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

    I couldn’t get the badge code to post properly on Facebook, so I just saved the picture on the badge and am using it as my ZFacebook avatar for a few days. Thought I should let you know.

  4. Elise Copps-Smith April 6, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    This is genius! Adding this one to my kitchen wish list.

  5. Nelly Rodriguez May 7, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    you’ve literally made my day with this cupcake corer info! sadly I can’t go into the WS website (some issue with being out of the US bla bla) but will get someone to order this for me! are they sturdy or should I get two? $5?! a steal! 🙂 thank youuuu!

Leave a Reply

