Simple Vanilla Cupcakes

5 Aug

I must start this blog by apologizing for my recent absence. I went to an airshow in Oshkosh, Wisconsin for work last week. I thought I would have time to post some things while I was away, but I was wrong. I was just too busy!

Today I am back at work and furiously trying to play catch-up. So for now, while I can’t give you a detailed blog about all of my traveling mishaps, or my luggage that weighed over 50 lbs because of cupcake supplies, I will give you a recipe that used while I was away (Yes, I made cupcakes on a work trip!)

I made yellow cake cupcakes with cream-cheese frosting (my favorite!!) Enjoy the recipe, its really simple and really yummy!

Vanilla with Cream Cheese Icing - Pure Heaven!

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/gale-gand/the-perfect-yellow-cupcake-recipe/index.html

Cupcakes:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 cups sifted cake flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • Regular or silver cupcake paper liners

** I add 2 tbs of lemon juice to this recipe. You can’t taste the lemon in the cupcake, it just improves the vanilla flavor. Make sure to not put more then 2 tbs though, or you’ll end up with lemon cake instead of vanilla 😉

Make the Cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a mixer with a whip attachment, cream the butter until light and fluffy. Add the sugar and continue to cream. Gradually add the vanilla and eggs and mix in well. Sift together the dry ingredients; then mix into the butter mixture alternating with the milk. Pour batter into cupcake paper-lined muffin tins filling them 3/4 full. Bake until puffed and firm in the center and light golden brown on top, about 20 to 25 minutes. Let cool. (Freeze at this point, if necessary.)

Thats all for now, I promise to write a longer blog this evening or maybe tomorrow. I recently got some great cupcake supplies that I can’t wait to review for you guys.

Til next time, stay sweet! xoxo

7 Responses to “Simple Vanilla Cupcakes”

  1. Angie March 1, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    I would like to use your vanilla cupcake image on a sales sheet I’m putting together. Would that be possible? Please let me know. Thank you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Red Hot Cupcakes « Stay Calm, Have A Cupcake! - February 7, 2011

    […] the frosting, I think a Marshmallow Whip or Fluffy Vanilla is the perfect addition. Decorate with Red Hots and […]

  2. Cupcake Easter Basket | Cupcake Ideas For You - March 28, 2011

    […] a basic vanilla cupcake recipe and separate it into 3 different bowls. Dye each bowl of batter a different color. I like to use […]

  3. Banana Nut Crunch Cupcake Topping « Stay Calm, Have A Cupcake! - May 26, 2011

    […] a quick trick to spice up your Vanilla cupcakes? How about a Banana Nut Crunch topping that bakes right into your delicious […]

  4. Candy Corn Cupcakes « Stay Calm, Have A Cupcake! - October 11, 2011

    […] this cupcake, I use a traditional vanilla cake recipe. If you want to make this even easier, you can use a box […]

  5. Bridal Shower :: Inspiration | Monogram Wedding - Custom Wedding Invitations - June 7, 2012

    […] via Memories on Clover Lane} {image via Dough Messtic} {image via Grandmas Kitchen} {image via Stay Calm, Have a Cupcake} {image via Wedding Magic} {image via Bakers & Artists} The shower was truly perfect & a […]

  6. Cherry Passion Fruit Frosting « Stay Calm, Have A Cupcake! - June 11, 2012

    […] frosting is delicious on dark chocolate cupcakes, vanilla cupcakes, and believe it or not, coconut cupcakes! Enjoy the recipe and let me know if you have any […]

Leave a comment